Skip to content

The end of the letter and client service

February 20, 2013

I have noticed a trend which has grown into a pet hate, which I stamp on at every opportunity in the world of emailing and letter writing. It is the use of the phrase, “If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact me.”

My dislike manifests itself on a number of grounds.

Primarily, people tend to use this as a filler, or formality, which leaves the phrase without any real meaning. There is more meaning in your “I’m fine, thank you” response to a “How are you today?”. Such a formality is, I consider, both disrespectful, and wasteful. Disrespectful because it tells the reader that you are somehow on auto-pilot and are not really thinking about the reader, and wasteful because there are so many other, more relevant and helpful, comments you could place at the end of your missive.

On top of this, usually there are no more questions which can be asked regarding the content of the letter. If there are any questions relating to the message, then it is likely that the writer has not thought seriously about how to assist the reader and provided enough relevant material for the reader to get on with their work. Additionally, the writer may well have written in such a complex manner, without considering the reader, that there are bound to be questions. Both of these points, when dealt with well through planning the writing with the reader in mind, obviate the need to ask about further questions borne from the topic of the message.

Bear in mind that closing lines do have a job. They make reference to a future event

  1. I look forward to your reply.
  2. I look forward to hearing from you.
  3. I look forward to seeing you. (usually before a meeting)
  4. I look forward to hearing your proposal.
  5. We look forward to a successful working relationship in the future.
  6. Please advise as necessary. (this is a formal way of saying “tell me what to do”)
  7. I would appreciate your immediate attention to this matter. (this is a formal way of saying “do it”)

They repeat a strong thank you or apology

  1. Once again, I apologize for any inconvenience.
  2. Thank you once again for your help in this matter.

They offer help or close the communication.

  1. We hope that the above is useful for your (current) purposes.
  2. We hope the above is useful to you.
  3. We hope the above advice/ recommendation is useful to you.
  4. We hope the above is sufficient for your (current) purposes.
  5. We hope you find the above satisfactory.
  6. I hope this helps.
  7. I trust this helps.

If you are not doing any of these, then there is no need to add such a closing line.

No comments yet

Leave a comment